top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

#NayDay21 - Los Angeles, California


AUGUST 8-12, 2016

EXPECTATIONS:

My 21st birthday was the beginning of my #NayDay bucketlist. Shortly after New Years (2016) I had a conversation with some of my family members about what we all wanted to accomplish throughout the year. At this time in my life I had just completed my second semester at a new school (Old Dominion University) and was beginning my own little life journey of self-actualization. I told my family I wanted to travel more and do some fun stuff. Disappointingly, I was the only person who thought this was a good idea; but days later when I brought up the idea to my friends they were all offhandedly just as ready for new adventures as I was.

Travel Bitmoji

I planned my birthday trip for six months. SIX LOOOONG MONTHS. Over this course of time, I had multiple people excitingly tell me they wanted to participate in the trip but then weeks later when it came to the budget they could not afford it. I changed the destination three times because I was trying to accommodate the people who were going with me. Word of advice to everyone reading this, when planning a trip keep the group small. In small groups there are less opinions and the communication between everyone will be less stressful. At one point I was so frustrated with planning the trip I almost canceled the whole thing, but then two of my best friends convinced me not to and I am so grateful they did.

The whole while planning I saved up money for this trip because I knew that traveling from Virginia to California would be expensive. So I found a good flight and hotel I could afford and booked it in advance. This was my first time traveling to the west coast and my first time taking a vacation without family. The closer it got to my birthday the more excited I was.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page