top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

Airport Troubles At LAX


MONDAY AUGUST 8, 2016

Hotel Selfie

My mom drove me to the airport and the whole car ride she gave me a lecture about how there are crazy people in the world and how I need to stay safe because she was worried about me traveling by myself. She told me about this news story she had seen that involved people getting drugged and kidnapped and instructed me to send her a selfie everyday so that she could be assured that I was still alive and okay while I was gone. Before I got out the car I told her she needs to stop watching the news for a little while lol. My flight to California was decent. I thought it was pretty cool to watch how the terrain and climate changed as we flew across the country. We flew over vast grassland fields, snowy mountains, dry dessert, you name it. Traveling was going well until I actually landed in Los Angeles. When we landed at LAX airport our plane had to sit on the runway for a little while because there was a line of planes waiting for their respective gates to become available. I did not know this at the time but apparently Delta airline was experiencing a crisis which consequentially effected flights all over the country. Apparently, there was a fire at the Delta data center headquarters, which lead to power failure and there were canceled and delayed flights all over the country. My best friend Japera was scheduled to be on one of those delayed flights. When they finally let us off the plane, the airport was crowded and hectic so I got food and then got a Lyft ride to my hotel. After checking into the hotel, I ate my food and then called my best friend to see how her traveling was going. She informed me that she was just getting on her flight HOURS after she was supposed to have already left the east coast. So since it was already late afternoon, I was slightly jet lagged and my best friend was not going to be at the hotel for another four hours I took a nap. I later woke up to her calling me at midnight frustrated that after a long day of travel she finally made it but her luggage was lost. So needless to say, we did not go out on the town that night.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page