top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

So I Think I Am Coming To The End Of My Quarter Life Crisis...


The first time I heard the term quarter life crisis I was reading a blog post from popular blog Brown Sugar Movement entitled, “THE QUARTER LIFE CRISIS IS REAL, WHY AREN’T WE TALKING ABOUT IT?” My initial reaction was: is this a real thing? So me being me, I did some research and found out it actually is a thing that many young adults are experiencing!! For those of you who are like me and do not know what a quarter life crisis is, let me explain: A quarter life crisis (QLC) is when a person in his or her twenties begins to feel doubtful about the success of their life while transitioning into adulthood. To put it another way, a QLC is similar to a midlife crisis except it occurs at an earlier stage in life. Identity and self-confidence are essential components in both crises.

If you are reading this and you immediately begin to panic thinking, “OMG I’m in a crisis!?!” relax it does not happen to everyone. However, QLCs are actually more common nowadays than it has been for past generations. Here I am thinking my friends and I are the only ones going through life completely clueless but in actuality this is an emerging theme for us Millennials (80s and 90s babies) as an entire generation. A QLC can be experienced in varying ways; for instance, being stressed about seeking employment or experiencing anxiety about living on your own for the first time. The crisis itself is that phase of panic, disappointment or frustration when you realize that your current life circumstance is not where you want or expect it to be. And sadly, there is no specific person or particular thing that prepares you for how complex a QLC is or how to cope with the experience.

Random Meme

Personally, I feel like my college experience was one extensively prolonged QLC and honestly I might still be experiencing some aftershock post graduation. It would have been so helpful if someone had kindly sat me down before starting college and informed me that my life was about to become a spiraling rollercoaster. In fact it is not just college but emerging into adulthood as a whole creates a whirlwind of stress that takes you by surprise. I have found plenty of articles and blogs that describe the QLC phenomenon and contribute relatable personal experiences but none of them provide an actual solution to how to end or avoid the crisis. My guess is that there is no solution because experiencing a QLC is just a part of life’s journey. Like I previously stated, not everyone encounters a QLC but I think it is extremely important that those who may be experiencing a crisis be informed that it is normal to endure the stressors of life. And, you also need to be able to recognize when you should reach out for help. There are people who improperly cope with life stressors by utilizing different vices like alcohol or lashing out at others and those methods are just frankly unhealthy. In this day and age it is so easy to feel as if you are not doing enough with your life because of popular trends. You may have friends that are successfully achieving their goals; meanwhile you are stuck looking at their social media thinking I am happy for them but when is my time to shine? I know I feel personally attacked by life itself at least three times a week lol Feeling like all my money goes to bills or thinking I like my job but I know I do not want to do this for the rest of my life.

When we are younger we make the naïve mistake of planning out our lives before we even get the freedom to live it. So we create expectations but for some people the expectation does not get met or you may have to experience some unexpected hardship before your planned fantasy becomes your reality. But the most important lesson I have learned so far in my twenties is that everybody runs their own race. Once I realized that what happens in other peoples’ lives is not a reflection of me, I was able to contemplate and decide what it is I want for myself and how I am going to go about achieving it. I started with small goals like traveling more and trying new hairstyles. Then my growth gradually became life lessons that effected my behavioral functioning because I became my own first priority. One thing that really helps me deal with life stressors is taking some me time to reflect and set goals for improvement. This process can pertain to any aspect of life: employment, friendships, romantic relationships, pursuing higher education, etc. If I have been stuck in QLC for the past couple years I really hope it is close to being over soon lol But I definitely appreciate the life lessons I have gained in the process. I am starting to realize that change is hard because of the unknown but it can be for the better if you stick with it. I want to continue personal growth and achieve prosperity by forgetting what hurt in the past but always remember what it taught me, accepting new opportunities as blessings and not challenges and being madly in love with myself: mind, body and soul.

“The one who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd. Those who walk alone are likely to find themselves in places no one has ever been before.” ~ Albert Einstein

Other Blog Post About QLC I Have Read:

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page