top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

Alternative Spring Break


MARCH 6-13, 2016

EXPECTATIONS:

Group Hiking Selfie

Alternative spring break is a volunteering opportunity Old Dominion University offers to students. Every year the school plans a number of trips where students and faculty volunteer to travel somewhere and complete service projects. The group that I traveled with went to Moab, Utah and had the opportunity to help build housing for families in need. Admittedly, preparing for this trip was a little difficult for me. In our student orientation our group leaders gave us a general list of things to bring to help us with deciding what to pack, but honestly the list was no help for me. They told us to pack for both warm and cold weather, which was confusing to me. And, they also told us to pack for adventurous activity, like hiking. So basically I assumed this was not a trip to not be cute, which you will see in my pictures lol. I choose to participate in alternative spring break because I figured it was an opportunity to travel somewhere I had never been before. My friends and family looked at me crazy when I told them I was going to Utah for spring break. They all asked “what are y’all going to do out there?” But, I was excited and no one was going to change my mind because I knew I was going to experience something different.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page