top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

Tattoos And Food, My Favorites!!!


MONDAY MARCH 6, 2017

Broccoli
Family Owned Bakery

After breakfast, we met a new tour guide Enzo, who taught our food culture lecture. Enzo was definitely my favorite tour guide during this trip because he had such an amicable personality and was very informative whenever we had questions. Enzo taught us that food availability is regionally influenced throughout the country of Italy. Typically, the southern parts of Italy are where you will find more seafood, the central regions are known for cured meats, cheese, pasta and pizza and the northern parts are where you will find more fresh water fish, beef/veal, rice and corn meal. I was fascinated with the fact that Italian farmers are not allowed to use pesticides when growing crops like how American farmers do. Considering this, that is probably why all the fruits and vegetables we saw at the open air market looked entirely healthier than anything you could find in America. For example, the broccoli had this crazy cool spiky look to it. Enzo had also explained to us that there is a controversy in Italian society about the open markets being gradually pushed out of business by big business grocery stores. After exploring the food market, Enzo took us to a great local bakery for lunch, where we had delightful pastries and sandwiches. The bakery was a family owned business and they make their food fresh from scratch everyday. After lunch we were free the rest of the day, so the group decided to be spontaneous and get tattoos at a shop named, Urban Tattoo. Seven out of the ten people in our group got memorably tattoos to capture the experience of traveling to Rome. I got a crown on my foot and it hurt so bad but I absolutely LOVE the finished product. Admittedly, shortly after getting the tattoo I realized that it was not a wise idea to get a tattoo on my foot during a trip where I have to do so much walking around lol.

Tattoo Session

After tattoos we had dinner at this amazingly lavish restaurant named Da Pancrazio. Apparently, this restaurant is exactly where Julius Caesar was slain. One of my classmates swear she saw his ghost while we were eating dinner, but she was the only one who saw it so we'll just take her word for it lol. The restaurant had top-notch service and delightful food. For an appetizer we had boiled artichoke, which seems to be a popular delicacy Italians love. For my main course, I had lamb topped with a savory sauce made of mushrooms and shell ravioli. Some of my other classmates had oxtail, which they let me try and it was so appetizing.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page