top of page
Search
  • Janay S.

The End Of My Comfort Zone


EXPECTATIONS:

Hotel Selfie

When I first decided to accept my professors offer to participate in a study abroad program in Rome, Italy I became extremely excited. A couple weeks later that excitement turned into nervousness. All the preparation I had to do before going on the trip just made me more and more anxious. I had to get a passport, exchange currency, contact my bank about traveling, etc. it was a lot to do. As the days went by, I just could not wait to finally board a plane and fly across the world to Europe for the first time! I have to admit I was slightly worried about how I would be able to communicate with the local Italians since I do not speak or understand Italian language, but I just kept reminding myself that this trip is going to be a great opportunity full new experiences. I really wanted to be pushed outside of my comfort zone and experience Italian culture as a real Italian and not as just a visiting tourist. The number one thing I was looking forward to was tasting authentic Italian food. I was extremely curious to see if Italian food is actually similar the way American culture depicts "Italian cuisine." I did not pack my suitcase until the night before I had to leave because I could not decide on what type of attire to bring. In orientation they told us that the weather would be similar to the bipolar wether here in Virginia because it is the time of the year when the season is changing (first week of March).

Travel Essentials: Passport, Flight Ticket, Money

THURSDAY MARCH 2, 2017

Unlike the other students in the group, I did not get to meet and interact with everyone before the trip. Fortunately for me everyone welcomed me and treated me like I had always been a part of the group. Our first flight was a short trip on a tiny airplane from Virginia to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. However, the plane ride from Philadelphia to Rome was the EXACT OPPOSITE. The plane was huge! There were eight seats in every row and each chair had tv screens in the headrest for our entertainment. I watched two movies before falling asleep. Unfortunately, my sleep kept being interrupted by the inattentive flight attendant that kept hitting my arm with her cart when going up and down the isle. I COULD NOT WAIT TO GET OFF THAT LAST FLIGHT!!!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page